If Heaven wasn't so far away

My grandpa. My hero, my encourager, my role model, my supporter, my counselor, my number one fan. If it wasn’t for this influential man I would not be anywhere near the person I am today. Even though he’s been passed away for about a year now, not a day goes by that I don’t think about him. He was the most important person in my life. When I was in school, playing piano, dancing, I always did it for my Grandpa. I was always looking for ways to make him proud. He was the one I went to when I got all A’s and B’s on my report card, the one I wanted to listen to me play piano, (he always encouraged me to play piano, I think he was heartbroken when I quit) the one I wanted to always make happy. When he passed away, a part of me felt like I had nothing to work for anymore, no one to impress, no one to make happy. Yeah, of course I always want to do my best at whatever I do for myself, and for my parents. But nothing compares to seeing that smile on my Grandpas face whenever when I made an accomplishment. The only thing that keeps me going is knowing that he’s looking down on me smiling. He was the funniest person I’ve ever met. I could be sitting in the kitchen complaining, crying, upset, or stressed about something and my grandpa could always put a smile on my face. Some people saw him as such a rude, hard ass but if you really knew him you would know that he was probably one of the most caring people you would ever meet.

He was so motivated; he made sure that we were always taken care of. I miss him spoiling me every now and then. There was nothing better than Grandpa slipping me a few twenties under the table. He always told me I was a beautiful girl, he was always a believer in wearing lipstick; He believed that all women should always have a little but of color on their lips. Every time I put on lipstick I think about my Grandpa. If there’s one thing he told me that I will never forget, It would have to be to always strive for the best, always try to reach my goals, work hard no matter what I’m doing, and to never settle for anything. I hope I can find, and marry a man half as good as my Grandpa was. When he had his stroke and lost his ability to talk, my heart was broken. It was too unexpected, it happened too quickly. Tell your loved ones you love them while you can. Don’t take any ones love for granted; you never know when they’re going to leave you. There’s so many things I wish I could tell him, so many things I wish I could thank him for. Love them while they’re here.Image

 

Leave a Reply

